GLORY 87 Results: Lightweight champ fends off hyped challenger

GLORY 87 saw the lightweight champ Tyjani Beztati retain his title.

By: Tim Bissell | 1 month ago
GLORY 87 poster


GLORY 87 went down in Rotterdam tonight with a lightweight championship bout and a four-man one-night heavyweight tournament. The title fight will see champion Tyjani Beztati, of Morocco, meet Japan’s Kaito Ono. Beztati is a longtime GLORY vet with 14 wins in the promotion. He won the title with a win over Elvis Gashi in 2021. He’s defended the belt three times with a KO over Josh Jauncey, a decision versus Stoyan Koprivlenski and a front kick KO over Petpanomrung Kiatmuu9 (see that KO below).

Kaito Ono is just 1-0 in GLORY with a split decision win over Koprivlenski in 2022. He is both the RISE lightweight and SHOOT BOXING super welterweight champion and he hasn’t lost since 2020.

The four man tournament will have the winner entered into the highly anticipated GLORY heavyweight grand prix. The four men vying for that opportunity are Uku Jurjendal, Martin Terpstra, Bahram Rajabzadeh and Mohamed Amine.


GLORY 87 Fight card and results

  • Bahram Rajabzadeh πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ώ def. Uku JΓΌrjendal πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡ͺ by unanimous decision (30-27×5) Rajabzadeh wins Glory Heavyweight tournament
  • Tyjani Beztati πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ def. Kaito Ono πŸ‡―πŸ‡΅ by unanimous decision (50-45×5); Beztati retains the Glory lightweight championship
  • Murthel Groenhart πŸ‡³πŸ‡± def. Cihad Akipa πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺ via unanimous decision (30-27×4, 29-28); Welterweight
  • Michael Boapeah πŸ‡¬πŸ‡­ def. Sergej Braun πŸ‡©πŸ‡ͺ via unanimous decision (30-27×4, 29-28); Middleweight
  • – Jan Kaffa πŸ‡³πŸ‡± def. Mohamed el Hammouti πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ via Β split decision (29-28×4, 28-29); Featherweight
  • – Uku Jurjendal πŸ‡ͺπŸ‡ͺ def. Martin Terpstra πŸ‡³πŸ‡± via TKO (two knockdown rule), Round 1, 2:23; Heavyweight tournament semi-final
  • Bahram Rajabzadeh πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ώ def. Mohamed Amine πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ via TKO (two knockdown rule), Round 2, 2:59; Heavyweight tournament semi-final
  • – IImad Hadar πŸ‡²πŸ‡¦ def. Maksymilian Bratkowicz πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± via unanimous decision (30-25, 30-26×4)
  • Nichola Filipovic πŸ‡·πŸ‡Έ def. Cristian Ristea πŸ‡·πŸ‡΄ via split decision (30-27, 29-28×3, 28-29)

Start time and date

GLORY 87 took place on Saturday, August 19, 2023 at the Rotterdam Ahoy in Rotterdam, Netherlands. The event began at 8 p.m. local time, which is 2 p.m. ET.


You can purchase tickets for GLORY 87 at the Rottderam Ahoy here.

Live streams

US, UK and Australian viewers can purchase and watch this event through the GLORY FIGHT! app for $10.99. Viewers in Canada can see the event on The Fight Network. For other territories check out the following page.

The prelims will air for free on YouTube. You can watch that stream below.

You know you can count on us for quick, consistent quality MMA coverage. Bloody Elbow is an independent, reader supported publication. Please subscribe to our newsletter to keep up with our best work and learn how you can support the site.

Join the new Bloody Elbow

Our Substack is where we feature the work of writers like Zach Arnold, John Nash and Karim Zidan. We’re fighting for the sport, the fighters and the fans. Please help us by subscribing today.

Share this story

About the author
Tim Bissell
Tim Bissell

Tim Bissell is a writer, editor and deputy site manager for Bloody Elbow. He has covered combat sports since 2015. Tim covers news and events and has also written longform and investigative pieces. Among Tim's specialties are the intersections between crime and combat sports. Tim has also covered head trauma, concussions and CTE in great detail.

Tim is also BE's lead (only) sumo reporter. He blogs about that sport here and on his own substack, Sumo Stomp!

Email me at Nice messages will get a response.

More from the author

Bloody Elbow Podcast
Related Stories