In the main event of UFC Norfolk. Deveision Figueiredo finished Joseph Benavidez in the second round following an accidental clash of heads.
What was the high point of the fight?
In the first round, Figueiredo was close to catching Benavidez in an armbar and finishing the fight, but Benavidez showed great flexibility and scrambling ability to survive the submission and continue on to the next round.
The beginning of the end started for Benavidez in the second round when an accidental clash of heads rocked the flyweight veteran. Following this, Figueiredo pressed Benavidez down and rocked him with a right hand and after some follow up shots referee Dan Miragliotta stopped the fight.
Where do both men go from here?
It’s a gutting loss for Benavidez, who was the only fighter in the main event eligible to win the title after Figueiredo missed weight. It now marks the third time Benavidez has missed out on flyweight gold, but regardless of this he still remains one of the top contenders at 125-pounds.
Regardless of the impressive win over Benavidez, missing the mark on the scale has meant Figueiredo has found himself in a difficult position at flyweight. Had the Brazilian have weighed in successfully, he would be the champion right now, but Figueiredo will have to prove himself again at 125-pounds before getting another title fight.
Watch it now, later or never?
Watch it now to see the impressive stoppage win for Figueiredo.
— ESPN MMA (@espnmma) March 1, 2020
About the author