Keith Kizer Explains Jon Jones Disqualification Ruling

A report from the commission on Jon Jones' DQ loss.

By: Luke Thomas | 14 years ago
Keith Kizer Explains Jon Jones Disqualification Ruling
Bloody Elbow 2.0 | Anton Tabuena

MMA Junkie talks to Keith Kizer about Jon Jones:

“Kizer said despite the numerous legal blows that came in the barrage – as many as 85 depending on who’s counting – the fact that the illegal blows were shown to have caused the damage meant disqualification was the only proper call.

“‘At the end of the day, you have the illegal elbows that cut [Hamill] up, and that’s why it was stopped,” Kizer told ( “The only call you can make in that situation is a disqualification.

“‘Because there was definitely some damage done by lawful elbows, it was difficult to determine what caused what until he saw the instant replay. Then it was very easy. It would have been a tough call for him without the instant replay just due to the good strikes that preceded the illegal blows. That’s why we added it.'”

Animated gif of Jon Jones’ illegal blows in the full entry.


Share this story

About the author
Luke Thomas
Luke Thomas

More from the author

Related Stories